Kuniyoshi

Ichiyusai Kuniyoshi (1798–1861) is, in several aspects, a remarkable artist who, from a European point of view, is perhaps not rated as highly as Utamaro, Hokusai, and Hiroshige. Nevertheless, in Japan he is rightly considered one of the great artists of the 19th century still giving new impulses and new ideas to art in the late phase of the Edo period. Manga and anime are barely conceivable without his imagery. The MAK is taking the 150th anniversary of the establishment of economic and cultural contacts between Austria-Hungary and the Japanese Empire as an opportunity to have a look at Kuniyoshi’s work and to also address his influence on pop culture in the 20th century in an exciting exhibition.

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Fri. 24 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Jan 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 01 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February

  • Wed. 05 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Feb 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.