Belvedere

David Zink Yi

David Zink Yi presents his newest ceramic works at the Carlone Contemporary Hall. The anatomically precise, cast tentacles of a dissected octopus will make for an unexpected sight amidst the baroque splendour of the Belvedere. The antecedent violence of dismemberment stands as a symbol for the process of artistic creation and human appropriation.

Despite comprising head and limbs, squids are creatures most dissimilar to humans. They have the power to light up their skin and extremities and change their body shape and appearance in a matter of seconds. Living in the eternal darkness of oceanic depths, the light they are accustomed to is solely their own. As the antipode of the human, for Zink Yi they intrinsically represent the alien. These objects of his, in addition, explore the limits of ceramic as material; in working with it, the process of transformation is never predictable and always contains an alchemical element.

Current Dates

  • Thu. 21 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

March

  • Sun. 31 Mar 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April

  • Mon. 01 Apr 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Apr 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Apr 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.