Chinese Whispers 中国私语

With CHINESE WHISPERS: Recent Art from the Sigg Collection a comprehensive exhibition on Chinese contemporary art is coming to Vienna. Uli Sigg has been following the development of contemporary art in China since the late 1970s. In the mid-1990s, he started putting together the world’s most significant and representative collection of Chinese art. A business journalist, entrepreneur, and Swiss ambassador to China, North Korea, and Mongolia (1995–1998), he had the chance to take a look behind the scenes of the social and economic developments dedicated to both tradition and the future, as China’s vision of a new Silk Road shows. Cultural and sociopolitical values form the frame of reference of the MAK exhibition. The museum creates a discursive platform by contrasting works from the Sigg Collection with objects from the MAK Collection. This interplay highlights China’s contemporary art production as well as its aesthetic or iconographic references. The historical object becomes a vision machine for the contemporary.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 30 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February 2019

  • Sun. 10 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Feb 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March 2019

  • Fri. 01 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Mar 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April 2019

  • Tue. 02 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Apr 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.

May 2019

  • Wed. 01 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 May 2019, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.