Wiener Staatsoper

Ballet: Forsythe / Van Manen / Kylián

Choreographyt: William Forsythe
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach, Eva Crossman-Hecht

Choreography: Hans van Manen
Music: Erik Satie

Choreography: Hans van Manen
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach

Choreography: Jirˇí Kylián
Music: Igor Strawinski

In 1978, when Jiří Kylián (who at that time was artistic director of the Nederlands Dans Theater) presented his "Psalmensymphonie", this also provided the impetus for the entire further development of the ensemble, and the ballet has to this day retained the reputation of an early masterpiece which celebrates all facets of the dance and yet goes its own individual way. Also intended as an "ode to the ballet" was William Forsythe’s 1984 "Artifact", the key moments of which were condensed by Forsythe 20 years later to form the suite of the same name. With "Trois Gnossiennes" (1982) and "Solo" (1997) by Hans van Manen, we include two further works in the season programme which demonstrate the stylistic developments and changes of these choreographers.


Current Dates

  • Thu. 26 Sep 2019, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Sep 2019, 7:30 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Sep 2019, 7:30 p.m.