Naturhistorisches Museum

Comets. The Rosetta Mission.

From 9 May until 12 September 2018, the exhibition “Comets. The Rosetta Mission. A Journey to the Origins of the Solar System”, by the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in cooperation with the NHM Vienna and the Max Planck Society, invites visitors to embark on a journey to the fascinating world of comets and find out how the Rosetta mission revealed their secrets. The main exhibition will be on display in the special exhibition rooms in the mezzanine of the NHM Vienna and will be complemented by relevant shows in the Digital Planetarium.

Comets are icy messengers from the outer reaches of our solar system. Comprised mainly of ice and a little dust, the ice is vaporized and ionized by the Sun as they enter the inner solar system, resulting in the typical comet tail.

Current Dates

  • Mon. 20 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

September

  • Sat. 01 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.