Arnold Schönberg - Der musikalische Gedanke

Schönberg described a work of art as “a labyrinth where, at every point, every knowledgeable person is aware of the entrance and the exit without needing a golden thread to guide him.” The new exhibition shows just how very exciting it can be to enter a labyrinth and encounter an artistic event at every junction.

Its content and architecture illustrate Schönberg’s lifelong topic of the “idea” in all its representational variety. Music is at the center with painting and other manifestations of his creative drive as multifaceted guidelines toward discovering an artistic figure who was as path-breaking as he was imaginative.

Replicas of objects from Schönberg’s living environment allow direct contact with items in his everyday life (letters, calendars, photo albums, music scores, concert programs, etc.).

The exhibition will be closed from February 15 to March 1, 2019.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 17 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Wed. 31 Jul 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

September

  • Mon. 02 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Sep 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

October

  • Tue. 01 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Oct 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

November

  • Mon. 04 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Nov 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

December

  • Mon. 02 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Dec 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.