"Count Me Out"

The exhibition comprises works by Hanne Darboven, Rudolf Polanszky and Andreas Straub, three artists who have been incorporating numbers and mathematics into their work since the beginning of their respective careers. Computational and numerical processes shape their works and form the basis of their artistic approaches. They variously serve to visualise and contextualise complex relationships or to formulate abstract and concrete renditions of given realities. Their works betray a fascination with the logical and scientific foundations of numerical systems and mathematics as well as with the power that numerical systems can develop by way of their impenetrable nature and mythical interpretation.

The exhibition "Count me Out" shows artists who intuitively harness the rigid system of mathematics for their own purposes. While Rudolf Polanszky materialises prime numbers in three-dimensional sculptures and thus questions the conventional linear concept of numeral systems, Andreas Straub and Hanne Darboven are focussing on the concept of time. In his latest cycle, Decimal Digit System, Straub translates dates into drawings, paintings or three-dimensional objects, while Darboven lets viewers experience time by creating a numeral system based on cross totals in the form of complex and expansive wall works.

 

Venue

Galerie Crone Wien

Getreidemarkt 14/Eschenbachgasse
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Tue. 24 Apr 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Apr 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Apr 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Apr 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Apr 2018, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

May

  • Wed. 09 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 May 2018, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.