Secession

Anne Speier

Anne Speier makes art in two dimensions, working in painting, photography, collage, analog printing techniques, and digital image editing, but she also creates installations and sculptures, often revisiting characters from her pictures and transferring them into three-dimensional space.

Speier’s representational and figurative visual idiom grows out of experimental interactions between different media such as photography, painting, and various printing techniques. The specific characteristics and material requirements of the techniques she employs leave traces that are no less integral to her compositions than their subjects proper. Blending painting, photography, printing, and cutout techniques, the artist furnishes multilayered stages on which social roles are enacted.

The protagonists of Speier’s visual worlds are often female, androgynous, or sexless. Their appearance is mutable, varying between bulkily amorphous figures and comedic illustrations whom she lends individual personalities by endowing them with characteristic facial expressions or unusual gestures.

Venue

Secession

Galerie
Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Fri. 21 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

October

  • Wed. 03 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

November

  • Thu. 01 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.