Secession

Group exhibition curated by Anthony Huberman

In the summer of 2018, the curator Anthony Huberman will propose a group exhibition that will take up all three of the building’s exhibition areas. Titled Other Mechanisms, Huberman’s exhibition for the Secession considers the way artists work with and within mechanisms. Broadly defined, a mechanism refers to machines, tools, or devices, but also to the more abstract system of standards, protocols, or parameters that structure much of today’s economic and political administration and management. The works in the exhibition reflect on the way machines are not only physical objects but have become infrastructural, a part of the technological present that is more difficult to shut down or turn off. The exhibition examines how art might contest a world that values efficiency and productivity by including works that test existing systems with inefficient machines, impossible tools, wasted time, and elaborate protocols that misalign outputs from their inputs.

Building on Mechanisms, presented at the Wattis Institute in San Francisco (October 2017–February 2018), Huberman’s show at the Secession will elaborate on his curatorial research and develop it in new directions. While aspects of both exhibitions will overlap, the display at the Secession will involve a range of new perspectives, additional artists, and a consideration of the local Viennese context.

Venue

Secession

Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Fri. 29 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 01 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Wed. 11 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Jul 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Wed. 01 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Sat. 01 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.