Events in Vienna Search over 10000 Events in Vienna
Exhibition room, pink-purple walls, white ceiling, herringbone parquet floor, 3 paintings on the walls, 2 visitors looking at a painting
Foto: Johannes Stoll, © Belvedere, Wien
Exhibition room, pink-purple walls, white ceiling, herringbone parquet floor, 3 paintings on the walls, 2 visitors looking at a painting

The Permanent Collection Redisplayed

The Belvedere’s collection comprises several thousands of works from five centuries. In 2018, the museum’s permanent collection was redisplayed shedding a fresh and exciting light on artworks by artists like Rueland Frueauf the Elder, Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller, Gustav Klimt, Erika Giovanna Klien, Egon Schiele, Helene Funke, and Oskar Kokoschka.

The Belvedere’s extensive collection covers art from the Middle Ages to the present, including the world’s largest collections of paintings by Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller and Gustav Klimt and the Character Heads by Franz Xaver Messerschmidt. From March 2018, the Upper Belvedere’s new display concept shall offer fresh approaches to these masterpieces of art. The concept includes innovative thematic rooms, interspersing the chronological hanging through the periods of art and sparking a multi-layered dialogue between the classics of art history and contemporary artists, for example Erwin Wurm and Christian Philipp Müller. The rooms revolve around questions concerning Austrian history, its identity, and its art. In this exciting interaction between past and present, old favourites can be rediscovered in a new context.

Venue

Upper Belvedere (Oberes Belvedere)

Prinz-Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sat. 04 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

December

  • Thu. 16 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.