Belvedere

A New Look: The Permanent Collection Redisplayed

The Belvedere’s collection comprises several thousands of works from five centuries. In 2018, the museum’s permanent collection will be redisplayed shedding a fresh and exciting light on artworks by artists like Rueland Frueauf the Elder, Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller, Gustav Klimt, Erika Giovanna Klien, Egon Schiele, Helene Funke, and Oskar Kokoschka.

The Belvedere’s extensive collection covers art from the Middle Ages to the present, including the world’s largest collections of paintings by Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller and Gustav Klimt and the Character Heads by Franz Xaver Messerschmidt. From March 2018, the Upper Belvedere’s new display concept shall offer fresh approaches to these masterpieces of art. The concept includes innovative thematic rooms, interspersing the chronological hanging through the periods of art and sparking a multi-layered dialogue between the classics of art history and contemporary artists, for example Erwin Wurm and Christian Philipp Müller. The rooms revolve around questions concerning Austrian history, its identity, and its art. In this exciting interaction between past and present, old favourites can be rediscovered in a new context.

Current Dates

  • Thu. 16 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

August

  • Sun. 26 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Aug 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

September

  • Sat. 01 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Sep 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Mon. 01 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Oct 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

November

  • Thu. 01 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Nov 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

December

  • Sat. 01 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 31 Dec 2018, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2019

  • Tue. 01 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Jan 2019, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.