Schloss Esterhazy, Haydn Saal

Haydn explosive + Highlights of Esterházy Palace

Unfortunately, text is only available in German

The Haydn ticket includes two exhibitions and compellingly captures the life of Joseph Haydn, and the music, festivals and lifestyle at the Esterházy court.

Joseph Haydn served the Esterházy princes as Hofkapellmeister and composer for over 40 years. The famous maestro, “father of the String Quartet” and “virtuoso of the ensemble”, composed masses, operas, symphonies, chamber music and Hausmusik for the aristocratic family. These included the legendary “Emperor” Quartet that was played for the very first time in Eisenstadt in 1797.

Haydn explosive
Interactive displays, projections and superb exhibits convey the life of this musical genius – from his beginnings in Eisenstadt, through his stardom in London to his later work. The show also traces his impact as a composer both then and now. Visitors can admire some of the maestro’s personal and professional documents and original instruments, such as the fortepiano belonging to his patroness Princess Maria Josefa Hermenegilde.

Highlights of Esterházy Palace
The permanent Highlights exhibition presents exquisite objects from the Esterhazy collection and offers glimpses of how the princes lived and celebrated. Major attractions include the Esterházy dynasty’s silverware (the world’s largest surviving Empire silver service produced by Würth in Vienna) and the last known console table from the workshops of Giuseppe Briati in Venice. The exhibition also offers fascinating insights into how the palace was built. In some places the historic walls and floors have been uncovered, revealing many layers of history and a detailed glimpse of the architecture through 300 years.

With the Haydn Ticket you can also visit the Haydnsaal.

Current Dates

  • Fri. 17 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

August

  • Mon. 27 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Aug 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Sat. 01 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Sep 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Mon. 01 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Oct 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

November

  • Thu. 01 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Nov 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

December

  • Sat. 01 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Dec 2018, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

January 2019

  • Tue. 01 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Jan 2019, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.