The Art of Viennese Watercolour

Transparent lightness, brilliant colours, and a generally atmospheric impression are the special qualities of 19th-century Viennese watercolour painting. Virtuosic city views and landscapes, detail-rich portraits, genre paintings, and floral works comprise the rich motivic repertoire featured in this glorious blossoming of Austrian art.

The Viennese watercolour’s heyday was the Biedermeier era: Jakob Alt, Matthäus Loder, Thomas Ender, and Peter Fendi number among its most important artistic figures. Likewise outstanding are the exquisite works by Rudolf von Alt from his over 70-year career. His masterful watercolours run from the Biedermeier era all the way to the rise of the Secession movement around 1900.

This exhibition presents a veritable parade of exceptionally beautiful pictures, including the Albertina’s own treasures as well as important loan works, all of which pay impressive tribute to the high standing of the Viennese watercolour in the context of 19th century art.

Venue

Albertina

Albertinaplatz 1
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Fri. 16 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February 2018

  • Mon. 26 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

March 2018

  • Thu. 01 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April 2018

  • Sun. 01 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 02 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

May 2018

  • Tue. 01 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.