Duet with Artist. Participation as Artistic Principler

The audience and its role in the creation of a work of art lie at the centre of the 21er Haus exhibition “Duet with Artist”. Historical and contemporary positions show how artists activate others and call them to action.

To think of art as an essential part of life in which “everyone” can participate is not only fundamental to the understanding of art of the 20th and 21st centuries but is one of the fundamental democratic values of our society. “Duet with Artist” establishes the museum as a central place of participation and presents over 20 international artistic stances, which demand interaction, cooperation, and sometimes also collaboration.

The exhibition addresses the active participation of visitors and encourages a critical and creative attitude. In some situations, the viewers perform an artistic act or become an art object themselves. Thus, evoked ideas can become the work of art, as can the execution of instructions or the collaboration with others. The exhibition expands upon the institution of the museum by calling for social action and creating space for encounters.

Venue

21er Haus

Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien

Current Dates

  • Fri. 20 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 01 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Fri. 03 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Fri. 01 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Dec 2017, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2018

  • Mon. 01 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jan 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.

February 2018

  • Thu. 01 Feb 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Feb 2018, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Feb 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Feb 2018, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.