Oberes Belvedere

The Purloined Masterpiece. Images as Time Machines

Exhibition view with nude man statue in foreground
© Foto: WienTourismus / Paul Bauer
Exhibition view with nude man statue in foreground

The Purloined Masterpiece. Images as Time Machines contrasts the conventional practice of collection display with a model that allows the Academy’s historical art collections – the Paintings Gallery, the Graphic Collection and the Plaster Cast Collection – to enter into conversation with contemporary works. The exhibition draws on these three rich collections, plucking out only a selection of the many possible pictorial programmes, typologies and allegorical formulas in order to loosely interweave these with works from other periods.

The exhibition takes a digressive tour through art history from the 15th century to the present day, as reflected in the art collections of the Academy of Fine Arts. In the process, it addresses 17th-century theories of pictorial representation, such as this of Samuel van Hoogstraten, as well as considerations from present-day media theory that arise from technological transformation, exploring how this has been reflected in image generation and the associated theoretical debate since time immemorial.

Current Dates

  • Tue. 29 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Tue. 29 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2023

  • Tue. 03 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates