franz kamlander & co: ‚animal efforts‘

The animal kingdom, in all its facets, is fascinating and is repeatedly used as a subject in Art Brut. The artist Franz Kamlander from Gugging became famous for his drawings and paintings of animals. Coming from a farm in Lower Austria, his favourite topic was clearly the depiction of cows. The beloved “livestock” - the term mostly used to describe domesticated animals in agriculture - was drawn and also painted by him in countless variants as a symbol of his youth, which he spent at home. For him and all his artist colleagues, it’s not about producing the most natural depiction possible of an animal but about conveying its emotions. It’s the feelings of animals that are presented and the perception of these feelings by the artist.

Experiences and memories find expression in drawings, paintings and objects. Around Franz Kamlander’s work, a further 25 artists - from Laila Bachtiar to August Walla - provide an insight into the “brutish” animal world. Dense, archaic works by Michel Nedjar, fine drawings by Oswald Tschirtner and colour-intensive works by August Walla illustrate the wide range of approaches to this subject matter. We show rarities by Anton Dobay and Ernst Herbeck, while objects by Jens Mohr, paintings by Ernst Schär and drawings by Michael Vonbank can be seen in our gallery for the very first time.

Current Dates

  • Mon. 27 Mar 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Mar 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Mar 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Mar 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Mar 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

April

  • Mon. 10 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Apr 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

May

  • Tue. 02 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.