Ineke Hans. Was ist Loos?

Contemporary relevance is what characterizes the hybrid design objects by Dutch artist Ineke Hans. Taking account of current social developments, the fluctuating boundaries that separate work and personal life, and the challenges posed by a networked, globalized world, she asks questions about the functionality of contemporary design and about how people, objects and spaces interact.

The exhibition Was ist Loos? [a pun merging the German phrase for ‘What is happening?’ with the name of architect Adolf Loos] aims to provide an overview of Ineke Hans’ more recent work while also exploring the present and the future of design. In addition, Ineke Hans will develop new objects for the exhibition, which, on the one hand, will focus on Vienna as a site for design and production shaped by Adolf Loos and the Thonet brothers and, on the other, will indicate new ways to develop and distribute design concepts. Ineke Hans’ interest focuses on conventional and innovative production methods as well as on the regional characteristics of developments in design. In her works, she examines the values inscribed in the materials and objects while trying to find both formal and functional solutions that help us coexist. With her designs, Ineke Hans reacts to the social needs of our time and develops objects that also have a social dimension to their functionality.

Venue

Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz

Karlsplatz/Treitlstraße 2
1040 Wien

Current Dates

  • Wed. 27 Sep 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Sep 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Sep 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Sep 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 01 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 02 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

October

  • Sat. 07 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Oct 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.

November

  • Wed. 01 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Nov 2017, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.