Anna Artaker: The Pencil of Nature

Starting out from the famous book »The Pencil of Nature« by one of the pioneers of photography, William Henry Fox Talbot, the Austrian artist Anna Artaker (b. 1976, lives and works in Vienna) is working on an exhibition project for the tresor of the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien which revolves around the technique of nature printing: this historical form of visual reproduction might be regarded as the birth of all photographic techniques, since objects from nature are used directly as printing template, or to make printing plates. Natural printing not only produces images of nature itself in their original size, but also images through nature – as did Talbot, who for his first photograms in the 1830s placed leaves on light-sensitive paper and exposed them to the sun to make a fast and permanent impression as image. The print also harbours a temporal dimension; past and present overlap: the printed objects – the palm of the hand, a maple twig, a fern – is simultaneously absent and present. In this context the French philosopher Georges Did-Huberman talks of a »complexity of time«, symbolised in the print.

For the exhibition, Anna Artaker will engage in a contemporary interpretation of nature printing and in a creative confrontation will arrange historical photographs juxtaposed to exhibits of natural history.

Venue

Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien

tresor im BA-CA Kunstforum
Freyung 8
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sun. 28 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 May 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 01 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

June

  • Wed. 07 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

July

  • Sat. 01 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.