Man Ray

Man Ray (born as Emmanuel Radnitzky in 1890 in Philadelphia, died in 1976 in Paris) has always been primarily received as a photographer. He achieved worldwide renown for his portraits of artists and his rayographs of the 1920s, produced without the use of a camera. However, Man Ray painted, drew, designed, made films and objects, wrote, invested his talents enthusiastically in typography, book and magazine design, and pursued a veritable career as experimental fashion photographer for Harper’s Bazaar and Vogue – thus providing enviable scope for Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien to visualise all this in its exhibition. Man Ray exploited countless artistic media and techniques in an inventive and playful manner. In his autobiography, appearing in 1963, he wrote: »... the instrument did not matter – one could always reconcile the subject with the means and get a result that would be interesting (...) One should be superior to his limited means, use imagination, be inventive.«

While Man Ray’s photography is omnipresent in every overview on Dadaism and Surrealism, until now only few people in the German-speaking regions have been aware of him as a universal artist. His artistic brinkmanship relates not only to very diverse media, but also the two art capitals of the twentieth century – Paris and New York, where Man Ray alternately lived. Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien exhibition will be devoted to »the universal Man Ray« and critically address discourses that mark his oeuvre in general, such as the closeness and distance between male and female physicality and creativity and their enactment in his oeuvre.

A selection of 150 keyworks from all over the world, including painting, photography, objects, works on paper, collages and assemblages and experimental film, will help to map the outline of an enigmatic and complex artist personality who paved the way for modern and contemporary art, and – in congenial artistic complicity with Marcel Duchamp – laid groundwork for how and what we see as »art« today.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 14 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February 2018

  • Sat. 24 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

March 2018

  • Thu. 01 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Mar 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

April 2018

  • Sun. 01 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 02 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Apr 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

May 2018

  • Tue. 01 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 May 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

June 2018

  • Fri. 01 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Jun 2018, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.