R. H. Quaytman: An Evening, Chapter 32

The American artist R. H. Quaytman creates paintings that are both conceptually rigorous and poetically alive, revolving as they do around paintings’ contested present context. The work and the methodology seems to both safeguard and interrogate the medium’s symbolic historical space as well as its capacity for absolute presence.

In advance of satisfying painting’s customary status as an autonomous bounded object, Quaytman considers the painting’s larger contexts via adjacencies in the installation and the larger contextual horizon of the architectural, historical and or social. This focal shift generates unforeseen legibilities, and connections – we are accustomed to looking at paintings as if they were invisibly bracketed in mysterious isolation bubbles divided from physical and temporal surroundings.

Venue

Secession

Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sat. 25 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

December

  • Thu. 07 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Dec 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2018

  • Tue. 02 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jan 2018, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.