Nicole Eisenman: Dark Light

Nicole Eisenman, born in 1965 in Verdun (France), lives and works in New York City.

Nicole Eisenman is known as a painter of complex narratives in the form of works that have psychological depth and often dystopian undertones. Her figurative paintings are distinctive from both subject matter and style, the latter being eclectic employing almost everything within modern pictorial tradition. Substantive content that oscillates between autobiography and socio-political issues is wrapped up in the painting style of great epigones. Since the beginning of her career in the early 1990s when she emerged with an oeuvre that was mainly based on drawing and graphics, Eisenmann has been working on the vocabulary of a contemporary pictorial language for queer and feminist subjects. These have been moving away from a marginalised position in society and, because of the academic engagement with queer politics in the late-1980s, have become established in the field of art too. These roots in the areas of counter- and underground cultures are most perceptible in Eisenman’s early works that have an affinity to zine culture and exhibit numerous references ranging from popular culture to art history to pornography.

Venue

Secession

Hauptraum
Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sat. 21 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 01 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Thu. 02 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Nov 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.