Artificial Tears: Singularity & Humanness – A Speculation

An exhibition by the VIENNA BIENNALE 2017

Curated by Marlies Wirth, Curator, MAK

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic,” stated British science fiction author Arthur C. Clarke. The group exhibition Artificial Tears will quote from a speculative chapter of the history of humankind that has yet to be written: In anticipation of the “singularity” prophesied by American futurist Ray Kurzweil, which will be enabled by the exponential growth of technologies and super-intelligent machine interfaces, ideas from the field of science fiction are shifting into the focus of serious scientific considerations.

The amplification or “optimization” of the human organism through wearable or implanted computer technology, nanotechnology, memory-enhancing drugs (nootropics), and life-prolonging measures is wholly redefining established notions and life plans — from business models to human life cycles, including the concept of dying. Yet the ingenious bio-technology of the human being — lacrimal apparatus, fear conditioning, and the ability to trust and to forget — already draws a complex picture of the “holistic system” we call human and its poetic inefficiency. Artistic works around the uncertain state between progress and archaism will be at the heart of the exhibition, which will deliberately compare quotes from sci-ence fiction to reality.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 21 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Jun 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 01 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July 2017

  • Sun. 02 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jul 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August 2017

  • Tue. 01 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Aug 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September 2017

  • Fri. 01 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 10 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Sep 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October 2017

  • Sun. 01 Oct 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.