Wiener Staatsoper

Tosca

Production: Margarethe Wallmann

Rome, 1800: The city suffers from Scarpias, the Chief Constables, reign of terror. The seditious painter Cavaradossi falls into his clutches and is bound to be executed. His beloved Tosca - chased after by Scarpia - strikes a bargain: She answers his desires, and Scarpia will save Cavaradossi by a fake execution with blank cartridges in return. Scarpia agrees, approaches her - and she stabs him to death. But he, too, has not kept his word and ordered to shoot Cavaradossi with real ammunition. With a broken heart, she leaps to her death from the pinnacles of Castel Sant’Angelo.

Current Dates

  • Fri. 11 Dec 2020
  • Mon. 14 Dec 2020
  • Thu. 17 Dec 2020
  • Sun. 20 Dec 2020
  • Sun. 31 Jan 2021
  • Thu. 04 Feb 2021
  • Sun. 07 Feb 2021
  • Sun. 14 Feb 2021
  • Mon. 03 May 2021
  • Thu. 06 May 2021
All dates

All Dates

May 2021

  • Mon. 10 May 2021
  • Fri. 14 May 2021