Oberes Belvedere

Orpheus in der Unterwelt

Volksoper Wien
© WienTourismus / Christian Stemper
Volksoper Wien

in German language with English surtitles

Premiere: January 21, 2023

Direction: Spymonkey, Aitor Basauri, Toby Park
Conductor: Alexander Joel

With Offenbach’s Orpheus in the Underworld Spymonkey, UK’s leading physical comedy ensemble, presents their first production at an opera house. "Orpheus chimes a lot with our work", says Toby Park, one of the artistic directors of Spymonkey, "because it presents a clear world that people already know and turns it on its head." With their dark, edgy physical comedy approaching Orpheus in the Underworld together with Spymonkey will mean for our ensemble to embrace their true clown potentials, to risk everything and claim their inner fools. True to the motto of Samuel Beckett: "Fail better." And failure in rehearsals will be comedic power on stage!

Venue

Vienna Volksoper

Währinger Straße 78
1090 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sat. 21 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 01 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Feb 2023, 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

January 2023

  • Sat. 21 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 7 p.m.

February 2023

  • Wed. 01 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Feb 2023, 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Feb 2023, 7 p.m.

March 2023

  • Tue. 14 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Mar 2023, 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Mar 2023, 4:30 p.m.
Fewer dates