Wiener Konzerthaus

Joy, a Shining Divine Spark

Portrait of Ludwig van Beethoven's face painted in oil
Kunsthistorisches Museum: Sammlung alter Musikinstrumente, Ludwig van Beethoven © WienTourismus/Paul Bauer
Portrait of Ludwig van Beethoven's face painted in oil

On 7 May 1824, the Ninth Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) had its world premiere at the Kärntnertortheater in Vienna. To mark its 200th anniversary, the Theatermuseum, together with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preussischer Kulturbesitz, is presenting the largest selection of particularly significant parts from Beethoven's autograph ever shown in Austria.

Joy, a Shining Divine Spark not only gives visitors the ‘holy shiver’ of standing in front of the original manuscript of one of the most famous works of Viennese Classicism, but also invites to explore the genesis of Beethoven’s iconic music creation.

The idea of setting Schiller's ‘Ode to Joy’ to music accompanied Beethoven throughout the 32 years he spent in Vienna from his arrival in 1793 until the premiere of the Ninth. The creation of no other of his works is associated with Vienna over such a long period of time. For the presentation, primarily passages from the final choral movement were chosen. Beethoven's autograph will be shown in the music room of Palais Lobkowitz, where Beethoven himself often performed. The Vienna Philharmonic take up this idea with a series of chamber music concerts in the Eroica Hall.

Venue

Theatre Museum

Lobkowitzplatz 2
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Wed. 29 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 01 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

May

  • Wed. 29 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

June

  • Sat. 01 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

July

  • Mon. 01 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates