Wiener Konzerthaus

Holidays in Austria. Reinventing a Tourist Destination

A classic vacation photo in black and white: a mountain range and forest in the background, a lake in front of it. Two women and a man on the shore, looking at the lake and into the camera respectively
Haus der Geschichte Österreich Foto: Eric Hope/hdgö, cc-by nc 4.0
A classic vacation photo in black and white: a mountain range and forest in the background, a lake in front of it. Two women and a man on the shore, looking at the lake and into the camera respectively

What do the memories of a holiday taken 70 years ago tell us about Austria today? How did Austria become a "tourism nation"? When Austria reinvented itself after the end of Nazi rule and the Second World War, the idea of it as a holiday destination played an important role. War-damaged Austria marketed itself abroad as an idyllic location and affordable place to go on holiday. This also shaped how people in Austria saw themselves.

Taking two unique photo albums belonging to a British couple from the 1950s as its starting point, the new hdgö special exhibition "Holidays in Austria. Reinventing a Tourist Destination" explores this little-told history and traces the idea of Austria as an aspiring tourist destination back to its roots. With a wealth of surprising objects, it gives a strong sense of the continued resonance of this early phase of the tourist industry today. Discover where present-day clichés and images of Austria came from and how they have changed over time.

Current Dates

  • Tue. 23 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 01 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

April

  • Tue. 23 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

May

  • Wed. 01 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

June

  • Sat. 01 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

July

  • Tue. 02 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Sun. 01 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Tue. 01 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

November

  • Fri. 01 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Sun. 01 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2025

  • Wed. 01 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates