Wiener Konzerthaus

aron quartett

Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center
Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien. Konzertsaal / (c) Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien
Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center

aron quartet:
Ludwig Müller, violin
Barna Kobori, violin
Georg Hamann, viola
Christophe Pantillon, violoncello

Christos Marantos, piano
Yui Futaeda, soprano
Assaf Levitin, reciter

Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet No. 2 op. 10; Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte op. 41
Gustav Mahler: Piano Quartet in A minor
Anton Webern: Piano Quintet op. post

With its yearning tone, Gustav Mahler's Piano Quartet seems like a sister work to Webern's early quintet, who could hardly have known the great symphonist's youthful work. Schönberg's String Quartet No. 2 follows on almost seamlessly from these two pieces, only to move on to "air from another planet" in the final movement. Finally, the late "Ode to Napoleon" forms a contrast - a gripping beacon against National Socialist tyranny.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 10 Apr 2024, 6:30 p.m.