Wiener Konzerthaus

Arditti Quartet

Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center
Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien. Konzertsaal / (c) Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien
Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center

Arditti Quartet:
Irvine Arditti, violin
Ashot Sargsyan, violin
Ralf Ehlers, viola
Lucas Fels, violoncello

Arnold Schönberg: Fourth String Quartet op. 37
Harrison Birtwistle: The Tree of Strings
Winner of the "Arnold Schönberg Scholarship for Composition 2023"

The Arditti Quartet has been associated with the music of classical modernism as well as the exploration of uncharted musical landscapes for fifty years. Beginning with Arnold Schönberg’s last contribution to the string quartet genre, the four musicians will traverse a wide stylistic spectrum and arrive at a showpiece of their repertoire: “The Tree of Strings” was written in memory of Harrison Birtwistle’s period of life on the Scottish island of Raasay. Read metaphorically, the title can also serve as the motto for the concert, since the genre’s richly diverse paths lead up to the present day. With the world premiere of a work commissioned for Arnold Schönberg’s 150th birthday, the ensemble will be celebrating two anniversaries at the same time.

Current Dates

  • Thu. 14 Mar 2024, 6:30 p.m.