Wiener Konzerthaus


Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center
Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien. Konzertsaal / (c) Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien
Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center

Razumovsky Quartet:
Anna Kandinskaya, violin
Matthias Adensamer, violin
Alexander Znamenskiy, viola
Tobias Stosiek, violoncello

Irina Kandinskaya, piano
Irene Suchy, moderation and discussion
Elisabeth Kappel, author of "Arnold Schönberg's Pupils"

Vilma von Webenau: Sonata for cello and piano - String quartet - Piano quartet in E minor

Vilma von Webenau was Arnold Schönberg’s first composition student, and she regularly took lessons over a period of ten years, both in Vienna and Berlin. Her compositions were performed alongside works by Anton Webern and Alban Berg at Schönberg’s public class recitals. Webenau left behind an extensive oeuvre. In this concert, Irene Suchy presents Webenau’s chamber music for strings and piano and, in conversation with musicologist Elisabeth Kappel, goes in search of traces of this forgotten composer.

Current Dates

  • Fri. 08 Mar 2024, 6:30 p.m.