Wiener Konzerthaus

Hollein Calling

Photo of demonstrating residents of Hallstatt with placards in front of the tunnel leading to Hallstatt
Übertourismus in Hallstatt – demonstrierenden Hallstätter:innen. © Foto: Friedrich Idam
Photo of demonstrating residents of Hallstatt with placards in front of the tunnel leading to Hallstatt

Ever more people are travelling more frequently, further and for shorter. What is the impact of our holiday dreams on the built environment, the social fabric and climate change? And how can we envisage a kind of tourism that does not destroy what it lives from?
Tourism has been growing in intensity for decades, and become an integral part of our Western lifestyle. It has brought an increase in value, prosperity and cosmopolitanism to even the most remote regions, thus preventing emigration. That is the sunny side of tourism. On the downside, there are negative effects, such as crowds of people, the impact on the environment, and rising land prices.

How can we rethink tourism in an era of climate crisis, wars, the threat of further pandemics, a shortage of skilled labour and an ongoing energy crisis, and steer it in a more sustainable direction? What is the role that spatial planning and architecture are playing in this? The exhibition sheds light on key aspects of tourism, such as mobility, urban tourism, interdependencies with agriculture, climate change, the privatisation of natural beauty and changing typologies of accommodation, and explores the question of whether and how tourism development is planned. Above all, however, the exhibition looks at the potential for transformation. Many travellers are reluctant to see themselves as part of the phenomenon of mass tourism, and doubts about the climate compatibility of our travel patterns are being raised increasingly.

Venue

Az W – Architekturzentrum Wien The Austrian Architecture Museum

MuseumsQuartier, Museumsplatz 1
1070 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Thu. 21 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

March

  • Thu. 21 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

April

  • Mon. 01 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

May

  • Wed. 01 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

June

  • Sat. 01 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jun 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

July

  • Mon. 01 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

September

  • Sun. 01 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 02 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Fewer dates