Wiener Konzerthaus

Hard/Soft

Photo of an installation showing a kind of ball of fabric and ribbons on a metal frame.
Sonia Gomes, Casa alugada (Entre Pérola e Vergalhão series), 2022 Courtesy of the artist and Mendes Wood DM, São Paulo, Brussels, Paris, New York © Gui Gomes
Photo of an installation showing a kind of ball of fabric and ribbons on a metal frame.

The intermedial potential of textiles and ceramics connects  material, aesthetics, and society against the backdrop of the avantgarde. At the same time, the archaic materials are  perceived in their haptic quality. Starting with craft processes such as embroidery, knotting, weaving, and molding, the interfaces between visual and applied art also include architecture, music, and digital space. The parameters of production are reflected in ateliers, workshops, and interdisciplinary synergies. Textiles and ceramics mediate themselves as cultural carriers of communities and are inscribed in economic and political systems that lead to revolutions.
In the MAK exhibition HARD/SOFT: Textiles and Ceramics in Contemporary Art questions of appropriation, feminist, and queer contexts meet with a dynamic in which different narratives are mirrored in each other.

Artists:
Magdalena Abakanowicz, Hildegard Absalon, El Anatsui, Anna Andreeva, Ranti Bam, Maria Biljan-Bilger, Cosima von Bonin, Geta Brătescu, Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Verena Dengler, Noa Eshkol, Gelatin, Sonia Gomes, Nilbar Güreş, Sheila Hicks, Klára Hosnedlová, Dorota Jurczak, Kapwani Kiwanga, Peter Kogler, Beate Kuhn, Denisa Lehocká, Goshka Macuga, Jonathan Meese, Hana Miletić,  Małgorzata Mirga-Tas, Robert Morris, Ann Muller, Ulrike Müller, Michèle Pagel, Lucie Rie, Willem de Rooij, Camila Sposati, Laurence Sturla, Dorothea Tanning, Rosemarie Trockel, Franz Erhard Walther, Ingrid Wiener

Venue

MAK - Museum of Applied Arts, Vienna

Stubenring 5
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Wed. 17 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

April

  • Wed. 17 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

May

  • Wed. 01 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 May 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates