Oberes Belvedere

Members of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna • Martina Hetzenauer, soprano

Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center
Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien. Konzertsaal / (c) Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien
Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center

Members of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna:
Johannes Pflegerl, violin
Tongtong Sun, violin
Tomáš Bumbál, viola
Johannes Kubitschek, violoncello
Pedro Minhava Reis, clarinet
Péter Erdei, horn
Christine David, piano

Martina Hetzenauer, soprano

Eva Teimel, moderation

Felix Mendelsssohn Bartholdy / Aribert Reimann "... or should it mean death?"
Alexander Zemlinsky: Quartet (two fragments)
Anton Webern: Four pieces for violin and piano op. 7
Arnold Schönberg: Gerpa. Theme and Variations (fragment)
Ernst von Dohnányi: Sextet in C major op. 37

This concert is centered on Ernst von Dohnányi’s weighty Sextet for wind and string instruments. The final chamber music work by this great Hungarian composer spans a broad stylistic spectrum from Johannes Brahms through to sounds reminiscent of jazz idioms. Aribert Reimann’s arrangement of Mendelssohn’s work is performed alongside late quartet fragments by Alexander Zemlinsky, the subtle pieces for violin and piano by Webern, and also Schönberg’s unusual Hausmusik.


Arnold Schönberg Center

Zaunergasse 1-3
1030 Wien

Current Dates

  • Thu. 27 Apr 2023, 6:30 p.m.