Oberes Belvedere

Dark Pairing

Photo of yellow exotic plant against black background, white threads stretched around the plant
© Wie-yi T. Lauw / Weltmuseum Wien
Photo of yellow exotic plant against black background, white threads stretched around the plant

"The postcolonial view is the view of empathy and the desire to understand; (…) The postcolonial view recognizes and recognizes hybrid cultures and identities." (Paul Michael Lützeler)

This recognition of the hybrid as well as the development of colonial cultures and history is the theme of T. Lauw in Dark Pairing  by interweaving plants in a fine-meshed network. Images of cultural inscription and overlay arise precisely from the impossibility of unraveling the materials. The net is no longer just a symbol of capture, but becomes the carrier of the other. At the same time, it is precisely through this function of the wing that it maintains its dominant position: the network not only determines the formation and arrangement of the individual flowers, it also decides what is in front and behind, an outside and an inside: it becomes a border location. In Dark Pairing this obvious upper hand disappears in favor of a fine interweaving of the materials. Instead of wire, we are now dealing with knotted yarn, which forms a common network with the plants. Despite the poetic-visual language, the brutality of colonial rule becomes the red line of T. Lauw's works.

Venue

Weltmuseum Wien (World Museum Vienna)

Hofburg, Heldenplatz
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

January

  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

February

  • Thu. 02 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

March

  • Thu. 02 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April

  • Sat. 01 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

May

  • Mon. 01 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

June

  • Thu. 01 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

July

  • Sat. 01 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 31 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Tue. 01 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Fri. 01 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates