Oberes Belvedere

This is what we demand! Minority movements in Austria

Haus der Geschichte
© Haus der Geschichte Österreich, 2018, Foto: Stefan Fuhrer
Haus der Geschichte

At the heart of the touring exhibition “This is what we demand! Minority movements in Austria” are the histories, stories and key demands of different minorities in Austria. Authors from minority groups—usually activists—shine a spotlight on their history and set forth their main demands concerning minority politics in the past, present and future.

Activism as well as legal and parliamentary forms of protest are inextricably linked to the history of the political demands made by minorities. The exhibition illuminates the effort, perseverance and alliances necessary to stand up against discrimination and for equal rights.

The historical struggles for bilingual signage and schools in Carinthia and Burgenland and the recognition of Roma and Sinti as an Austrian ethnic minority are presented as examples of strategies and political battles alongside the abolition of paragraph 209 of the penal code (which criminalised homosexuality) and the adoption of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Current Dates

  • Tue. 29 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Tue. 29 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2023

  • Sun. 01 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates