Oberes Belvedere

Austropop

Exhibition view with an installation in the middle of the picture showing the singer Falco as Amadeus framed by guitars
Theatermuseum © KHM-Museumsverband
Exhibition view with an installation in the middle of the picture showing the singer Falco as Amadeus framed by guitars

Austropop actually begins with Mozart and Schikaneder - this is also reflected in Falco, which immediately provides the framework for the new exhibition, which thematically juxtaposes pop phenomena across the ages.

Austria has produced many pop stars. They include Johann Nestroy as a great folk actor and, of course, Johann Strauss, who caused a sensation in America as well as in Russia with true pop concerts. Numerous operettas also thrilled audiences on Broadway and in early film adaptations, and with them popular Austrian musical theatre works came to international stages. The tenor Richard Tauber was one of the great pop stars of the 1930s.

Armin Berg und Hermann Leopoldi legten in ihren Liedern mit Humor den Finger in die Wunden der Gesellschaft; dies setzte sich nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg mit Helmut Qualtinger fort und führte zum Beginn der als „Austropop“ bezeichneten Ära. Arik Brauer, André Heller und Marianne Mendt gossen die Gesellschaftskritik in eigene, neue Formen. Ludwig Hirsch und Georg Danzer, Wolfgang Ambros und Rainhard Fendrich begründeten den Austropop, der sich bis heute weiterentwickelt.

Starkult, populäre Themen wie Sportbegeisterung vom „Wunderteam“ bis zu Wolfgang Ambros’ Schifoan, der Personenkult um Kaiserin Elisabeth von Operette über Film bis zum Musical, das Österreichbild zwischen Weißem Rössl und Sound of Music, aber auch die Ablehnung des Populären sind nur einige der Themen, die in dieser Ausstellung behandelt werden.

Venue

Theatre Museum

Lobkowitzplatz 2
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Mon. 28 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Mon. 28 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Nov 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Thu. 01 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Dec 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2023

  • Sun. 01 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 02 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Jan 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

February 2023

  • Wed. 01 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Feb 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March 2023

  • Wed. 01 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Mar 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April 2023

  • Sat. 01 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Apr 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

May 2023

  • Mon. 01 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 May 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

June 2023

  • Thu. 01 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Jun 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

July 2023

  • Sat. 01 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 26 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 31 Jul 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August 2023

  • Wed. 02 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Aug 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September 2023

  • Fri. 01 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Sep 2023, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates