Oberes Belvedere

Ensemble Wiener Collage

Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center
Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien. Konzertsaal / (c) Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien
Veranstaltungssaal Arnold Schönberg Center

Ensemble Wiener Collage:
Johannes Piirto, piano
René Staar, conductor

Alexander Stankovski, moderation

Arnold Schoenberg: Five piano pieces op. 23
Franco Donatoni: Somewhat calmer in expression
World premieres by Alexander Stankovski, Wolfgang Suppan, Germán Toro Peréz, Joanna Wozny

In 1920 Arnold Schönberg composed a piano piece that would serve as the opening movement of his Opus 23 three years later. All five pieces in the cycle illustrate different approaches to structuring music through abstract tone rows rather than by using characteristic themes and motifs. The ensemble works by Franco Donatoni, Alexander Stankovski, Wolfgang Suppan, Germán Toro Pérez, and Joanna Wozny, which refer to Schönberg’s Opus 23, are as different as the individual pieces. They can be heard both as independent compositions and as commentaries on Schönberg’s music.


Arnold Schönberg Center

Zaunergasse 1-3
1030 Wien

Current Dates

  • Thu. 14 Dec 2023, 6:30 p.m.