Events in Vienna Search over 10000 Events in Vienna
Photo of a completely bombed apartment building in the war in Ukraine
Foto: © Mykhaylo Palinchak War / Borodyanka, Ukraine, April 6, 2022
Photo of a completely bombed apartment building in the war in Ukraine

The Disasters of War. Goya and the Present

Since the outbreak of full-scale war in Ukraine in February of this year, the photographer Mykhaylo Palinchak has been documenting his homeland’s destruction and the attendant impacts on those who live there. His pictures of apartment complex ruins, the dead and survivors, people on the run, and those who have remained provide an impactful impression of this war’s immediate consequences.

The Albertina Museum is showing 40 recent war photographs by Palinchak, whose work has dealt repeatedly with incisive political developments in Ukraine, in juxtaposition with Goya’s Los Desastres de la Guerra. Just like Palinchak's photography, Goya’s early 19th-century depictions of war from the collection of the Albertina document the universal brutality of wartime events and the suffering of the civilian populace.

Venue

Albertina

Albertinaplatz 1
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Sun. 03 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Wed. 13 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Jul 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Mon. 01 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Aug 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.