Events in Vienna Search over 10000 Events in Vienna
Portrait foko of Maori artist George Nuku in green jacket with traditional tattoo on face and headdress
© Foto: George Nuku © Mathilde Denniel Nuku
Portrait foko of Maori artist George Nuku in green jacket with traditional tattoo on face and headdress

Bottled Ocean 2122

George Nuku brings to the Theseus Temple, the latest rendition of his Bottled Ocean concept. As the title suggests, it is an idea set 100 years in the future. A vision of ocean life fully mutated due to the proliferation of plastics affecting the marine world. The setting inside the Theseus temple, is a submarine sunken temple. The walls lined with carved depictions of divinities representing Water, Air, Earth, Fire, Wind, and Sea interspersed with Ocean guardians. In the underwater temple swim plastic mutated versions of rays, sharks, pelagic fish, and jellyfish among plastic coral reef formations and marine encrustations. The empty plastic bottles, transformed into lifeforms of toxic beauty, cause the viewer to be enchanted and disturbed by Nuku’s presentation of pollution as an artistic and cultural treasure. The underlying message conveyed is one of change: changing our relationship with this material we have created that now permeates every part of our world.

Free entrance!

Venue

Theseustempel

Volksgarten
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Thu. 23 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Jun 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Sun. 03 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Jul 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Mon. 01 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Aug 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Thu. 01 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Sep 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Sat. 01 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Oct 2022, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.