Events in Vienna Search over 10000 Events in Vienna
Photo of yellow exotic plant against black background, white threads stretched around the plant
© Wie-yi T. Lauw / Weltmuseum Wien
Photo of yellow exotic plant against black background, white threads stretched around the plant

Dark Pairing

"The postcolonial view is the view of empathy and the desire to understand; (…) The postcolonial view recognizes and recognizes hybrid cultures and identities."
Paul Michael Lützeler

This recognition of the hybrid as well as the development of colonial cultures and history is the theme of T. Lauw in Dark Pairing  by interweaving plants in a fine-meshed network. Images of cultural inscription and overlay arise precisely from the impossibility of unraveling the materials. The net is no longer just a symbol of capture, but becomes the carrier of the other. At the same time, it is precisely through this function of the wing that it maintains its dominant position: the network not only determines the formation and arrangement of the individual flowers, it also decides what is in front and behind, an outside and an inside: it becomes a border location. In Dark Pairing this obvious upper hand disappears in favor of a fine interweaving of the materials. Instead of wire, we are now dealing with knotted yarn, which forms a common network with the plants. Despite the poetic-visual language, the brutality of colonial rule becomes the red line of T. Lauw's works.

By using exotic plants, the striving for rule by colonial powers over indigenous cultures is critically examined. The fascination of the exotic has a long history and developed from an extremely hierarchical understanding of the "foreign" of other continents. Collecting “exotic” plants was part of the process of colonization and can be interpreted as an act of cultural appropriation (of the exotic). By building up the works, T. Lauw formulates the appropriation and imposition of the cultural as a processual development, the traces and memories of which form identities to this day and beyond.

Venue

Weltmuseum Wien (World Museum Vienna)

Hofburg, Heldenplatz
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Thu. 23 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

October

  • Mon. 04 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

November

  • Mon. 01 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Nov 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

December

  • Thu. 02 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 20 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 27 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 31 Dec 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2022

  • Sat. 01 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 25 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 31 Jan 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

February 2022

  • Tue. 01 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Feb 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March 2022

  • Tue. 01 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Mar 2022, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.