Photo with the construction fence of the Wien Museum Karlspaltz showing street art in blue tones, in the background the construction site of the museum

Urban Natures

Karlsplatz Open Air, the exhibition project on the construction fence of Wien Museum Neu, becomes a canvas for street art in the summers of 2021 and 2022. Today's Karlsplatz is the starting point for the often site-specific art: a place that is as contradictory as it is exciting, where the most diverse forms of use and abuse collide.

Urban Natures
2021 is all about the interface between city and nature, development and the environment. The invited artists deal with different aspects of "Urban Natures". Which forms of nature can be found in the city? What versions of “tamed” nature are created by urban planners? What forms of nature are displaced by urban sprawl?

Few people associate cities with nature. And yet, the natural environment is of immense importance for the quality of life of city dwellers. The Corona pandemic, with its attendant restrictions on movement, has made this even more pertinent, especially in conjunction with the highly unequal distribution of green spaces. Rarely have city parks, gardens, and hiking trails been so heavily frequented; and those who can increasingly turn to private recreational spaces.

With works by:
El Jerrino, Friend, Linda Steiner, Sckre and Video Oner

Part I June 10, 2021 to July 25, 2021: El Jerrino, Sckre and Video Oner
Part II August 5, 2021 to September 12, 2021: Friend and Linda Steiner

Venue

Wien Museum Karlsplatz

Karlsplatz
1040 Wien
Map

Tickets & Info

Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung/program to the exhibition:

Current Dates

  • Wed. 04 Aug 2021
  • Thu. 05 Aug 2021
  • Fri. 06 Aug 2021
  • Sat. 07 Aug 2021
  • Sun. 08 Aug 2021
  • Mon. 09 Aug 2021
  • Tue. 10 Aug 2021
  • Wed. 11 Aug 2021
  • Thu. 12 Aug 2021
  • Fri. 13 Aug 2021
All dates

All Dates

August

  • Sat. 14 Aug 2021
  • Sun. 15 Aug 2021
  • Mon. 16 Aug 2021
  • Tue. 17 Aug 2021
  • Wed. 18 Aug 2021
  • Thu. 19 Aug 2021
  • Fri. 20 Aug 2021
  • Sat. 21 Aug 2021
  • Sun. 22 Aug 2021
  • Mon. 23 Aug 2021
  • Tue. 24 Aug 2021
  • Wed. 25 Aug 2021
  • Thu. 26 Aug 2021
  • Fri. 27 Aug 2021
  • Sat. 28 Aug 2021
  • Sun. 29 Aug 2021
  • Mon. 30 Aug 2021
  • Tue. 31 Aug 2021

September

  • Wed. 01 Sep 2021
  • Thu. 02 Sep 2021
  • Fri. 03 Sep 2021
  • Sat. 04 Sep 2021
  • Sun. 05 Sep 2021
  • Mon. 06 Sep 2021
  • Tue. 07 Sep 2021
  • Wed. 08 Sep 2021
  • Thu. 09 Sep 2021
  • Fri. 10 Sep 2021
  • Sat. 11 Sep 2021
  • Sun. 12 Sep 2021