Events in Vienna Search over 10000 Events in Vienna
Wiener Staatsoper
© WienTourismus / Christian Stemper
Wiener Staatsoper

Don Giovanni

Dramma giocoso in two acts

Production Barrie Kosky

Premiere 5. 12. 2021

 

In the Catholic comedia, when Giovanni felt his end was approaching, he begged in vain to be allowed to confess. In the opera, it is the stone guest who wants to protect the rebel from eternal damnation by summoning him to repent – which he refuses. So, despite the fall into hell, it remains disputable who will be the inferior in this duel because the intellectual defiance of Giovanni is unbroken.

With this premiere production, the Vienna State Opera begins a new cycle of the Mozart-Da Ponte operas under the leadership of its musical director Philippe Jordan and directed by Barrie Kosky.

 

Current Dates

  • Sun. 05 Dec 2021
  • Wed. 08 Dec 2021
  • Sat. 11 Dec 2021
  • Tue. 14 Dec 2021
  • Fri. 17 Dec 2021
  • Mon. 20 Dec 2021
  • Fri. 03 Jun 2022
  • Mon. 06 Jun 2022
  • Wed. 08 Jun 2022
  • Fri. 10 Jun 2022
All dates

All Dates

June 2022

  • Wed. 15 Jun 2022