Photo of the Lower Belvedere, baroque facade, orange tiled roof, blue sky

Lovis Corinth

Leaping into Modernism: Lovis Corinth made the transition from Realism, by way of Impressionism, to Expressionism. The body of work of the German painter unites in itself the stylistic shifts from the 19th to the 20th century.  The Belvedere will follow in the footsteps of this exceptional artist.

Loves Corinth was a founding member of the Munich Secession. Together with Walter Leistikow and Max Liebermann, he was one of the leading figures and first director of the Berlin Secession. Classifying his work from an art-historical perspective is contentious, as he integrated a wide variety of stylistic elements into his works. In his private life, he alternated between being a bon vivant and a family man. He violated bourgeois morality with his large-format painting Mädchen mit Stier (Girl with a Bull) – conceived as a history painting, he brought the liaison with his student Charlotte Berend into the public eye in an ironical fashion. Then again, after marrying Charlotte Berend, his perceived role was in line with the bourgeois conventions of the 19th century; for many years, his wife set aside her artistic career to benefit his.

The exhibition at the Lower Belvedere examines the stylistic transformations through the lens of Lovis Corinth's life and work: The eroticism he addressed at the beginning of his marriage in nude portraits of his young wife, which gradually morphed into the theme of mother and child; the children growing up and the family as a leitmotif in his work; but also his own aging, which he repeatedly incorporated in his symbolic vanitas paintings; and finally, the climax of his oeuvre, the landscape paintings from the Walchensee.

Venue

Lower Belvedere, Orangery

Rennweg 6
1030 Wien
Map

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Fri. 18 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

June

  • Wed. 30 Jun 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

July

  • Thu. 01 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Jul 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Sun. 01 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Aug 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Wed. 01 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 28 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 29 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 30 Sep 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Fri. 01 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Oct 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.