Installation, white wall with green painting, silver ball and rope in the foreground

Emily Wardill

Emily Wardill’s films, photographs, and objects probe the complexity of perception and communication, the question of how reality appears authentic to us, and the displacements of substance and form effected by the individual nature of the imagination.
Her work has won acclaim for the sensual and psychologically fraught yet fractured narratives which she constructs. The films that she started making in the mid-2000s are typically defined by a narrative framework, but the plots as such tend to be secondary. The focus is on other aspects: the mechanics of storytelling, the relationship of imaginary space to language and the interplay between gesture and word.

In her exhibition at the Secession, Emily Wardill debuts her most recent film project, Night for Day (2020), an installation of film and sculptures that weave into one another, and the film I gave my love a cherry that had no stone (2016).

Venue

Secession

Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien
Map

Current Dates

  • Thu. 29 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 01 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.