Exhibition view, paintings of different sizes and colors in a bright, light-flooded room

Edi Hila

Edi Hila’s career as an artist is inextricably bound up with the specific political history of Albania. In the early 1970s, the young artist was barred from exercising his profession, and almost twenty years went by before he was officially permitted to take up art again and exhibit his work.

In the exhibition The Sound of the Tuba, Hila presents around twenty paintings from different series he has worked on in recent years as well as a small selection from his output of the late 1990s. The presentation traces a historical arc, connecting today’s global migrant and refugee flows to the major wave of emigration after the fall of the Albanian regime and politically motivated deportations in the early years of Albanian communism. Juxtaposing historic and contemporary realities, Hila’s pictures render the singular features of each as well as surprisingly rich parallels between them, inviting the viewer to reflect on the present situation.

Venue

Secession

Friedrichstraße 12
1010 Wien
Map

Current Dates

  • Wed. 21 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Oct 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Sun. 01 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Nov 2020, 2 p.m. - 6 p.m.