Black and white photo of Hans Kelsen in his study

Hans Kelsen and the Elegance of the Austrian Constitution

In 2020 the Austrian constitution celebrates its 100th anniversary. Praised by the Federal President Alexander Van der Bellen for its ‘elegance and beauty,’ its contents are not well enough known, and the devotion to the constitution that in countries such as the USA is rare in Austria.

The important role played by the legal expert Hans Kelsen in drafting the constitution also needs to be emphasized. Born in Prague in 1881, he grew up in Vienna in a German-speaking Jewish family. His father, a chandelier manufacturer, designed the lighting for Viennese synagogues. After the collapse of the monarchy, Kelsen was commissioned by State Chancellor Karl Renner to help draft a federal constitution for the young republic. He developed what became known as the Austrian model for constitutional jurisdiction, which was emulated by countries throughout the world.

On the 100th anniversary of the Austrian constitution, the exhibition pays tribute to its architect and presents his life and work. It also invites you to take a closer look at the constitution and the surprising insights and realizations it reveals.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 21 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Oct 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 01 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Mon. 02 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 09 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 16 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Nov 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Tue. 01 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 07 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 14 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 21 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 28 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Dec 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2021

  • Fri. 01 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Jan 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

February 2021

  • Mon. 01 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March 2021

  • Mon. 01 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April 2021

  • Thu. 01 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.