Photo: Exhibition view along the construction site fence Wien Museum Karlsplatz

Face It!

Spring 2020: Within a very short period of time, Covid-19 changes our lives radically. We see our world differently, meet each other "at a distance." Photographer Elodie Grethen captures the most visible sign of the pandemic, the face mask, creating portraits people wearing mouth-nose protection. The commission by the Wien Museum is accompanied with interviews, capturing the sitters’ individual experiences of the situation: Do people feel safe or threatened? Which protective measures are considered appropriate? How does the pandemic affect one’s professional and private life?

The 18 portraits are made between April and June 2020, from the time of a the strict lockdown to the gradual reopening of Austrian society. Grethen's photos not only show folks working in the newly recognized "systemically relevant" professions, but from all parts of the population. The personalities behind the masks convey restraint and seriousness as well as confidence and humor. The result is a kaleidoscope of everyday life in Vienna between states of emergency and tenuous routine: snapshots from a moment that had seemed inconceivable only a short while ago.

Photographs by Elodie Grethen
Interviews by Peter Stuiber

Open Air - Exhibition along the construction site fence

Venue

Wien Museum Karlsplatz

Karlsplatz
1040 Wien
Map

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Thu. 29 Oct 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 30 Oct 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 31 Oct 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 01 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 02 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 03 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 04 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 05 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 06 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 07 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
All dates

All Dates

November

  • Sun. 08 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 09 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 10 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 11 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 12 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 13 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 14 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 15 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 16 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 17 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 18 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 19 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 20 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 21 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 22 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 23 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 24 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 25 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 26 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 27 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 28 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 29 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 30 Nov 2020, midnight - midnight

December

  • Tue. 01 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 02 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 03 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 04 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 05 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 06 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 07 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 08 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 09 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 10 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 11 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 12 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 13 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 14 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 15 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 16 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 17 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 18 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 19 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 20 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 21 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 22 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 23 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 24 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 25 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 26 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 27 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 28 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 29 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 30 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 31 Dec 2020, midnight - midnight

January 2021

  • Fri. 01 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 02 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 03 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Mon. 04 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Tue. 05 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Wed. 06 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Thu. 07 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Fri. 08 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Sat. 09 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight
  • Sun. 10 Jan 2021, midnight - midnight