4 persons in shrill colorful clothes in front of a black background

James Coleman

The slide and audio installation "Lapsus Exposure" addresses communication, subjectivity, and the use of media. A key question concerns the significance of the chosen medium for our understanding of what we see. In his large slide projection, Irish artist James Coleman shows a studio situation that seems to be prepared for filming or fashion photography. The overlapping images of the slide show are accompanied by a multi-layered and intriguing voiceover. Gradually, various characters appear in the photographs, perhaps musicians in contemporary but somehow not quite up-to-date outfits, or production personnel. The relationship between past and present is raised by the non-linear narrative on the soundtrack, which is in the tradition of experiments with language in the style of James Joyce or Samuel Beckett. Complex relations between the protagonists are alluded to, with references to recorded and live performances, while allegories of analogue and digital photography are presented.

Current Dates

  • Wed. 12 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

August

  • Wed. 26 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 27 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 28 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 29 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 30 Aug 2020, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.