Wiener Staatsoper

Ballet: Tänze Bilder Sinfonien

Music Igor Strawinski
Choreography George Balanchine

Music Modest Mussorgski
Choreography Alexei Ratmansky

Music Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Choreography Martin Schläpfer

Musical Direction Robert Reimer
Piano Alina Bercu

Premiere 26. 6. 2021

Balanchine – Ratmansky – Schläpfer: three masters of contemporary ballet come together with works set to music by Russian and Soviet composers. They are linked by their roots: in the case of the choreographers, through danse d’école, which forms the basis for an art of ballet for the present time; and in the case of the composers, Stravinsky, Mussorgsky and Shostakovich, through the musical culture of their home country.The »Symphony in Three Movements«, set to Stravinsky’s symphony of the same name in 1972, is a perfect example of Balanchine’s art: his elegant athleticism, virtuosic step sequences and complex spatial formations.Alexei Ratmansky, a world star of classical dance, is now for the first time entrusting a work to the Wiener Staatsballett. In his »Pictures at an Exhibition«, which was premiered in 2014 by the New York City Ballet, ten dancers displaying natural movements take the forms, steps and positions of classical ballet in a new, invigorated direction.For the third part of the triple bill Martin Schläpfer immerses himself again in an intensive creative process with his ensemble. Shostakovich’s 15th Symphony, which is not only the closing point of the com-poser’s œuvre, but also a summary of his entire life, creates the fundamental impulses for a new ballet.