Black and white photo: Woman with lace over her eyes

Faces. The Power of the Human Visage

Starting from Helmar Lerski’s outstanding photo series "Metamorphose – Verwandlungen durch Licht (Metamorphosis through Light)" (1935/36), the exhibition "Faces" presents portraits from the period of the Weimar Republic.

The 1920s and ’30s saw photographers radically renew the conventional understanding of the classic portrait: their aim was no longer to represent an individual’s personality; instead, they conceived of the face as material to be staged according to their own ideas. In this, the photographed face became a locus for dealing with avant-garde aesthetic ideas as well as interwar-period social developments. And it was thus that modernist experiments, the relationship between individual and general type, feminist roll-playing, and political ideologies collided in—and thereby expanded—the general understanding of portrait photography.

Venue

Albertina

Albertinaplatz 1
1010 Wien
Map

Current Dates

  • Fri. 12 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February 2021

  • Mon. 22 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Feb 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March 2021

  • Mon. 01 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 04 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Mar 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

April 2021

  • Thu. 01 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 19 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 26 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Apr 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

May 2021

  • Sat. 01 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 02 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 03 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 04 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 05 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 06 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 07 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 08 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 09 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 10 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 11 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 12 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 13 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 14 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 15 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 16 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 17 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 18 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 19 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 20 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 21 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 22 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 23 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 24 May 2021, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.