The Cindy Sherman Effect

In spring 2020 the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien is presenting the exhibition "The Cindy Sherman Effect. Identity and Transformation in Contemporary Art". It addresses one of the key issues in art: the preoccupation with themes of identity, its construction, forms of transformation and fiction are hot topics in the face of a world that is in constant flux through increasing globalisation. At the same time, new technologies such as the Internet, gene manipulation and cloning give cause for us to consider the concept of identity in terms of subject generation and definition.

Cindy Sherman’s work is counted among the classics of performance photography and artistic role play; starting out from this base, the exhibition will cast light on these relevant questions pertaining to the theme of Identity. Sherman’s photographic works – developed out of 1970s performance art and her specific interest in ever-changing identities – has never ceased to be a formative stylistic influence down to the immediate present.

The exhibition in the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien will juxtapose works by Cindy Sherman with those of contemporary artists in order to focus on such themes as deconstruction of the portrait, cultural, gender-specific and sexual stereotypes, also the construction and fiction of identity.

Artists represented in the exhibition:
Monica Bonvicini, Candice Breitz, Sophie Calle, Samuel Fosso, Douglas Gordon, Martine Gutierrez, Elke Silvia Krystufek, Sarah Lucas, Maleonn, Zanele Muholi, Catherine Opie, Pipilotti Rist, Julian Rosefeldt, Markus Schinwald, Eva Schlegel, Tejal Shah, Cindy Sherman, Fiona Tan, Ryan Trecartin, Wu Tsang, Gavin Turk, Gillian Wearing
 

Current Dates

  • Mon. 25 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 May 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 01 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 02 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 03 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

June

  • Thu. 04 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 05 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 06 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 07 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 08 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 09 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 10 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 11 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 12 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 13 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 14 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 15 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 16 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 17 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jun 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

July

  • Wed. 01 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 06 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Mon. 13 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Jul 2020, 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.